top of page
  • Alexandra Charland

Project Adapt (Iteration 3)

For this iteration I tried to implement my app with features mostly complete. I realized that although they were there, some features didn't work as intended. I received feedback from two users in person following this feedback form format. Their feedback indicated to me that I needed to fix these features:

  • Add ingredient search: The table view that displays the search results doesn't allow the user to select an item by tapping - they have to swipe left or right on the row.

  • Search bar at the top of the table views: Perhaps not necessary as the user confuses this for the add ingredient search

  • Adding ingredients in recipe: There is not yet a feature to add ingredients from the add recipe modal so if an ingredient is not present, it cannot be added within the add recipe modal.

  • Ingredient picker view in the add recipe modal does not update the correct ingredients if it is closed, and must be reset manually

  • Nutrition calculator is not consistent with ingredient measurement cases not covered and will sometimes output the wrong data.

Lessons Learned

Building an app takes time and there's a lot that goes into making sure the user interaction is smooth. There was also an issue where a user forgot what the app did despite having seen it before and I needed to re-explain how the ingredient database worked. I didn't accomplish as much as I'd like for this iteration due to other coursework and since even though I tried to implement most of the features, they don't work correctly. Since my app is working fine with persisting data on a plist, I'll probably leave the data persistence method at that and focus on getting the ingredient search and nutrition calculator to work.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project Close

Final project can be found on GitHub. As I mentioned before in the adapt phase, there's a lot that goes into building an app to make sure that everything works as intended and user interaction is smoo

Project Explore (Iteration 3)

For this iteration I wanted to have all of my features working. I was able to get most of the features implemented except the exact data persistence method. I had trouble getting Realm to work with my

Project Speculate (Iteration 3)

For this iteration I want to build the full NutriTrack app. The MVP of my app will contain these features: Features Back-end: Nutrition API: The API that I will use for this app will be able to retrie

bottom of page